Skip to content

I can do it

March 10, 2012

I was hoping to post this last weekend, but a combination of poor diet during the week, lack of sleep and rain defeated me. I turned back at 15 miles.

This morning I ran 26 miles. Well, I ran 22 miles and ran/walked the rest. I hit the wall at around 20 miles as I was passing Hammersmith Bridge. It was awful. I was so close to catching the train home. I just kept telling myself I’d get as far as the next bridge, and by the time I got there I knew I could keep going. By the end, everything hurt. When I got in, I sat with my arms across my thighs for a bit to catch my breath. When I took them off there were white marks across my trousers from the salt on my skin. Even now, almost 4 hours later, I can feel the last dregs of adrenalin in my system. But it felt amazing.

The point to all of this, of course, is that I know I can go the whole distance. I’m not going to hit the wall and conk out. That’s good to know.

I was also in the local paper this week. The article is online if you’re interested. http://www.hounslowchronicle.co.uk/west-london-news/local-hounslow-news/2012/02/28/isleworth-woman-defies-disability-by-running-marathon-109642-30424125/
They made a lot more of the hypermobility than I was expecting. I’m not entirely comfortable with their slant on things, to be honest. From the article it sounds like I’ve got some kind of awful, debilitating disease, instead of a chronic condition that is only a minor irritation as long as I manage it carefully.

For those of you who don’t know me well, I have hypermobility. All this actually means is that my ligaments are a bit loose. It makes me more prone to dislocation and subluxation than most people, particularly in my knees. In practice, if I keep the muscles around my joints strong, I’m no different to anyone else. I’m certainly not doing the marathon to overcome the condition. I’m running the marathon to raise money for an amazing charity in the hope that the money I raise will get us one step closer to being able to treat some truly debilitating eye conditions. I sometimes have to cope with painful knees. Some people have to cope with no eyesight. I know which position I’d rather be in.

If you don’t want to go blind either, click the donation link: www.justgiving.com/Ellen-Clegg.

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. Isabel permalink

    Regardless, well done! Will hopefully be there with G to cheer you on,

  2. I never had any doubts about your ability to go the distance. But well done for having the determination to keep on after hitting the wall!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

